The journey

My Top Three Inspirations

Naturally, once I got excited about crocheting, I started scouring the internet for new stitches to master and wonderful projects with which to play. Even now, before I begin any project, or even just when I have a little time to kill, I search Instagram and Pinterest for beautiful creations. (I will leave a list at the bottom of Crocheters I enjoying following on Instagram).

Here are just three of the talented crocheters that have influenced and inspired me in the last year:

My first go-to when trying to figure out a new project is YouTube, and almost always, without fail, a Sarah-Jayne Bella Coco video will provide the answers I need in the simplest possible way. Sarah-Jayne’s videos are so easy to follow – her narrations are friendly, calm and to the point.

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 18.14.38.png

 

I fell in love with her page instantly and still visit it often. The look and feel is simply beautiful. I browse through wanting to try absolutely everything she has posted, from crochet to lifestyle, a pleasure to browse. I highly recommend any beginners to visit Sarah-Jayne’s YouTube channel.

 

I happened on my second inspiration quite recently, One Woof Dog. I was searching for a pattern for a cute unicorn (blog post to come) and came across ChiWei’s page.

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 18.32.21.png

 

As a beginner, learning to read patterns can be very overwhelming, especially when you are trying to get to grips with UK and US terminology.  ChiWei’s pattern, though, was so clear and easy to follow I actually managed to make a little cuddly unicorn – the head on mine might be slightly disproportionate, but we won’t talk about that!

Completing that pattern made me so proud, not only because I had actually creating a cuddly toy but also for properly following a pattern!  One Dog Woof is mostly a crochet-focused blog and a lovely site if you are looking for some inspiration.

 

As I mentioned earlier, I often turn to Instagram or Pinterest for inspiration, I’m always finding something that gets me excited and wanting to make a hundred new things in one day! Kaidalys‘ Instagram profile always catches my attention and I have to admit I have looked over her photos more than once … or twice … maybe even three times!

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 18.49.35.png

Her images and projects are presented so beautifully, so neatly, that one can hope to aspiring to!

 

I hope you enjoy browsing through these pages as much as I do. Please share your inspirations and any blogs, Pinners or Instagrammers that make you want to craft till your fingers bleed!

As promised here are a list of Instagrammers I enjoy following

Bellacoco_

1dogwoof

Bhooked

Petalshed

Frederikacreates

 

Leave a Reply

