The journey

First Blog Post…ahhh!

 

Why did I get hooked on to the art of Crochet?

My interest was first piqued at a friend’s house. A group of us were getting ready to go for a meal and our host showed us her cosy blanket. We realised this was still a work in progress when she grabbed her hook and explained how she enjoyed relaxing in front of the TV, just adding to her blanket. Watching her extend her blanket so smoothly instantly appealed to my crafty nature, but yes, I still thought the practice of knitting and crocheting had been left behind with our mothers and grandmothers.

I knew then that I simply had to learn how to crochet. I had tried knitting in the past and the only result was a very questionable scarf, but I had faith that I could do this!

I turned to my mum and asked her to show me. My mum had self taught from an old book passed down from her mother, along with a blanket she had fallen in love with from Scotland. The only stitch my mum knew was a Granny Square, but it was as good a place as any to start. We spent an unforgettable afternoon bonding over coffee, chit chat and crochet. I loved that neither of us checked our mobile phones even once, a welcome break from technology and the outside world. This, actually, is another reason why I look forward to rushing home from work to pick up my hook and work the stress out, mindfully meditating with each stitch, a perfect practice after a hectic day. I walked away, that first day, with a single square, ready for me to practice extending it until I plucked up the courage to start a blanket, all on my own.

 

After my first blanket I couldn’t wait to impress my mum, showing her new stitches I’d learnt, mostly through the wonderful YouTube tutorials (maybe refer to a section of links to your favourites?). A year on and I still get excited to show off new projects to her, like an 8 year old proudly showing off their drawing to stick on the fridge!

To see more of my projects check out my Instagram

Leave a Reply

